OCC provides opportunities for continuous professional development centered on patient care, practice enhancement and lifelong learning.

Five Components of OCC View Specialty OCC

Component 1 | Active Licensure

Maintain valid, active licensure to practice medicine in one of the 50 states and uphold the standards outlined in the AOA’s Code of Ethics.

Component 2 | Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education

Demonstrate your commitment to lifelong learning by fulfilling a minimum of 120 hours of CME credit during each three-year CME cycle. A minimum of 50 of the 120 credit hours must be earned in the specialty area of certification. Self-assessment activities will be designated by each of the specialty certifying boards. Note: Some boards may have additional requirements.

Component 3 | Cognitive Assessment

Pass one or more psychometrically valid and proctored examinations that assess your specialty medical knowledge, as well as core competencies in the provision of health care.

Component 4 | Practice Performance Assessment and Improvement

Engage in continuous quality improvement through comparison of personal practice performance measured against national standards for your medical specialty.

Component 5 | Continuous AOA Membership

Maintain membership in good standing with the AOA, furthering your commitment to professional development through completion of basic CME requirements.