The American Osteopathic Conjoint Pain Medicine Examination Committee administers subspecialty certification exams and Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain subspecialty board certification in pain medicine.

Written Exam

1. In order to take the Pain Medicine Written Exam, applicants must hold an AOA primary board certification and have completed a one-year fellowship in Pain Medicine that is AOA or ACGME accredited.

2. The Pain Medicine Written Exam is offered every year in the fall.

Become Board Certified

3. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the AOCPMEC will recommend osteopathic board certification to the AOA.

4. You will receive a letter from the AOA via email once certification has been approved.

5. You are now board certified. You will receive your certification in the mail within 90 days.

6. Your certification in Pain Medicine will remain active provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment.