AOBOS announces exam changes due to COVID-19 VIEW DETAILS


Through the following components, board-certified physicians maintain Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of Orthopedic Surgery and the subspecialty of Hand Surgery.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) is a process in which board-certified DOs can maintain currency and demonstrate competency in their specialty area. The goals for OCC are to provide certified physicians with a process to continually assess and improve their skills and to assure patients and the public that certified physicians are being assessed through reliable and valid measures.

To check your progress with OCC, please visit the AOA Physician Portal.

Component 1 | Active Licensure

AOA board-certified physicians must hold a valid, active license to practice medicine in one of the 50 states. Read more…

Component 2 | Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education

Component 2 of the Osteopathic Continuous Certification process requires recertifying physicians to pursue lifelong learning through continuing medical education. Read more…

Component 3 | Cognitive Assessment

To complete Component 3 requirements for Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of orthopedic surgery, a physician must pass a written examination once per 10-year OCC cycle, or to complete a clinical pathway examination. Read more…

Component 4 | Practice Performance Assessment & Improvement

Component 4 requires physicians to engage in continuous quality improvement through comparison of personal practice performance measured against national standards for their medical specialty. Read more…