The Sleep Medicine Conjoint administers subspecialty certification exams and Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain subspecialty board certification in Sleep Medicine.

Written Exam

1. In order to take the Sleep Medicine Written Exam, applicants must have satisfactorily completed a one-year fellowship in sleep medicine that was completed after July 1, 2009.

2. The Sleep Medicine Written Exam is offered once per year in August. The application period opens in December, the year before the exam, and applications are due June 1 with a late deadline of July 1.

Become Board Certified

3. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the Sleep Medicine Conjoint will recommend osteopathic board certification to the candidate’s primary board.

4. You will receive a letter from the AOA via email once certification has been approved.

5. You are now board certified. You will receive your certification in the mail within 90 days upon notification of approval. You’ll also receive an email explaining how to access your Certified Electronic Certificate.

6. Your primary certification in Sleep Medicine will remain active for 10 years following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment module.