Longitudinal Assessment for Neurology and Psychiatry Primary Certifications

The AOBNP has transitioned away from the traditional 10-year high-stakes recertification exam  to a longitudinal assessment model for continuous certification of the Neurology and Psychiatry primary certifications. The longitudinal assessment will provide high-quality, effective evaluation while allowing greater flexibility for physicians meeting the OCC Component 3 requirement.

The AOBNP longitudinal assessment will be administered through the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners’ (NBOME) CATALYST platform. The longitudinal assessment was developed and designed to give diplomates more convenient access to relevant questions and to allow diplomates the freedom to select questions relevant to their specialty in a customized process, all while keeping the true spirit of “continuous learning.”

Longitudinal Assessment Registration

Diplomates with a 10-year certification:
Diplomates currently holding an active primary certification in Neurology or Psychiatry must register for the longitudinal assessment annually. Registration opens in the fall prior to the following year’s assessment. Diplomates will be required to begin the longitudinal assessment in the expiration year of their current 10-year certificate.

Newly-certified diplomates:
Diplomates who have received their certification in Neurology or Psychiatry on or after Jan 1, 2020, are not required to register and begin participation in the AOBNP longitudinal assessment program for one calendar after receiving their certification. After one full calendar year following the issue date of the initial primary certification, diplomates will need to register for the AOBNP’s longitudinal assessment during the next available registration year and begin the longitudinal assessment the following year (i.e., A diplomate who is certified in 2021 must register for the AOBNP’s longitudinal assessment in 2023 and begin the longitudinal assessment in 2024).

Longitudinal Assessment Process

Each assessment cycle will coincide with the OCC cycle, lasting three years. Each assessment segment will span an entire calendar year and will require the diplomate to select two available content areas from the OCC Table of Specifications. Diplomates will answer five untimed multiple-choice questions (MCQs) in each of the content areas they have selected for a total of 10 MCQs per calendar year.

Diplomates will see the reference and correct answer for MCQs that are answered incorrectly. Additionally, diplomates may reattempt incorrectly-answered MCQs with an unlimited number of reattempts during a given segment. Once the segment is closed at the end of the calendar year, no more reattempts will be allowed for the MCQs in the selected content area.

Diplomates will select two new additional content areas each segment (calendar year) of the cycle. The same content areas will not be repeated or accessible within the same three-year cycle.

At the conclusion of the 3-year cycle, diplomates must achieve a 70% cumulative grade of the total 30 MCQs to successfully complete and pass the longitudinal assessment. Diplomates whose expiration year falls in year two or three of a three-year cycle, will be prorated. The required number of MCQs received within the cycle will be appropriately adjusted to 20 or 10, respectively. Prorated diplomates will still need to achieve a 70% cumulative grade for the prorated items at the end of the cycle.

A diplomate’s certification may be placed in inactive status if they are required to participate in the longitudinal assessment and do not and/or they do not achieve a 70% cumulative grade at the end of the cycle. The certification may remain in an inactive status until the diplomate has contacted the AOBNP and participates in a remediation plan as stipulated by the AOBNP.

Longitudinal Assessment Schedule – if initially certified before Jan. 1, 2020

Dec. 31, 2021

June 15, 2021 Aug 31, 2021 Oct. 2021

Dec. 31, 2022

Sept. 1, 2021 Nov. 19, 2021 Jan. 1, 2022

Dec. 31, 2023

June 1, 2022 Oct. 31, 2022 Jan. 1, 2023

Dec. 31, 2024

June 1, 2023 Oct. 31, 2023 Jan. 1, 2024

Dec. 31, 2025

June 1, 2024 Oct. 31, 2024 Jan. 1, 2025

Dec. 31, 2026

June 1, 2025 Oct. 31, 2025 Jan. 1, 2026

Dec. 31, 2027

June 1, 2026 Oct. 31, 2026 Jan. 1, 2027

Dec. 31, 2028

June 1, 2027 Oct. 31, 2027 Jan. 1, 2028

Dec. 31, 2029

June 1, 2028 Oct. 31, 2028 Jan. 1, 2029

*Each cycle consists of three segments (calendar years). MCQs administered during each segment must be completed by the end of the calendar year in which the MCQs were released.

2024 Longitudinal Assessment References

The following references are provided as a preparation tool for the 2024 Longitudinal Assessment.


Longitudinal Assessment Fees

Registration is required each year of the longitudinal assessment three-year cycle. A $175 fee will be assessed annually at the time of registration.

Please contact the AOBNP at (312) 202-8148 or via email at AOBNP@osteopathic.org with questions regarding registration or the assessment fee.