AOBOG announces return to in-person Primary Oral Exams | LEARN MORE


The American Osteopathic Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology administers primary certification exams, subspecialty certification exams and Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain subspecialty board certification in Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery.

Note: In Fall 2023, the AOBOG officially changed the name of the Female Pelvic Medicine & Reconstructive Surgery (FPMRS) subspecialty to Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery (URPS) to more accurately describe the subspecialty with a name that is more recognizable to patients and the public, as well as referring providers.

FPMRS certificates were issued from 2012 through 2023. The first exams administered under the URPS subspecialty name will take place in Spring 2024. AOBOG will provide all current FPMRS subspecialists a replacement certificate displaying their certification in URPS by the end of 2023.

Oral Exam

1. In order to take the Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery Oral Exam, applicants must have attained primary certification from the AOBOG in Obstetrics and Gynecology.

2. The Oral Exam is offered once per year, in the spring, via remote proctoring. The application period opens 6 months and closes 3 months prior to the exam date. All required documentation must be uploaded by the late application deadline. View all exam deadlines.

Become Board Certified

3. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the AOBOG will recommend osteopathic board certification to the AOA.

4. You will receive a letter from the AOA via email once certification has been approved.

5. Congratulations! You are now board certified. You will receive your certificate in the mail within 90 days.

6. Your subspecialty certification in Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery will remain active for 6 years following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

**Please note that once you become certified in Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery, the AOA and AOBOG do not require you to maintain primary certification in Obstetrics & Gynecology. We highly recommend that you confer with all employers, hospitals where you hold privileges, insurance companies, payors and any other interested third parties before voluntarily dropping your primary Obstetrics & Gynecology certification to ensure that there will be no adverse effects if you choose do to so.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment.