AOBOG announces return to in-person Primary Oral Exams | LEARN MORE


Through the following components, board-certified physicians maintain Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of Obstetrics and Gynecology and the subspecialties of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery, Gynecologic Oncology, Maternal Fetal Medicine, and Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility.

For physicians holding time-dated certification, failure to successfully complete the OCC process (all components) will result in the loss of certification when their current certification expires. For physicians with non-time-limited (non-dated, non-expiring) certifications, OCC participation is not required, although physicians may elect to participate voluntarily.

Physicians can view their OCC status at any time by logging in to the AOA Physician Portal.

Longitudinal Assessment References

Component 1 | Active Licensure

AOA board-certified physicians must hold a valid, active license to practice medicine in one of the 50 states. Read more…

Component 2 | Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education

Component 2 of the Osteopathic Continuous Certification process requires recertifying physicians to pursue lifelong learning through continuing medical education. Read more…

Component 3 | Cognitive Assessment

To complete Component 3 requirements for Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of obstetrics and gynecology, a physician must participate in the annual longitudinal assessment. Read more…

Component 4 | Practice Performance Assessment & Improvement

Component 4 requires physicians to engage in continuous quality improvement through comparison of personal practice performance measured against national standards for their medical specialty. Read more…