Component 3: Cognitive Assessment


To complete Component 3 requirements for Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of Anesthesiology, physicians must pass a written examination. Depending on your practice situation, you can take either the clinical or the nonclinical OCC exam in Anesthesiology. Diplomates completing OCC requirements for a subspecialty must pass an additional examination related specifically to the subspecialty practice area. The exam may be taken within three years of the expiration date on your specialty certificate. The exam is offered twice per year, once in March and once in August.

The cognitive assessment for board-certified physicians in clinical practice includes 100-120 multiple-choice questions that must be completed within a two-hour time limit. An adjusted grade of greater than 70% must be achieved in order to pass the exam. Diplomates have a maximum of three attempts to pass the exam. Exams for board-certified physicians in the nonclinical category will include 150 multiple choice questions and must be completed within two hours, 45 minutes. Additional questions will focus on, but are not limited to:

  • Risk Management
  • National Patient Safety Goals
  • SCIP Protocols
  • Interpersonal and Communication Skills
  • Professionalism