Read the latest on the launch of AOBEM's new Continuous Osteopathic Recertification Exam


Become Board-Eligible

Board-eligible status begins upon completion of your training program and ends Dec. 31 of the sixth year after you complete training. View eligibility requirements for AOA board certification.

Select Your Specialty

The AOBEM administers primary and subspecialty board certification in the following areas.

Primary Certification:

Emergency Medicine

Subspecialty Certification:

Emergency Medical Services

Medical Toxicology


Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Sports Medicine

Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine

Get Certified

Complete all application and examination requirements for certification through the specialty certifying board.

Maintain Your Certification

Complete the four components of Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) to promote patient care, practice enhancement and lifelong learning throughout your career.