Component 2: Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education


Component 2 of the Osteopathic Continuous Certification process requires recertifying physicians to pursue lifelong learning through continuing medical education.

Primary Certification

If your primary specialty is Diagnostic Radiology, you must earn 40 CME credits and complete 20 self-assessment modules per 10-year OCC cycle to meet Component 2 requirements.

If your primary specialty is Radiation Oncology, you must earn 40 CME credits and complete eight self-assessment modules per 10-year OCC cycle.

Subspecialty Certification

If you hold subspecialty certification in Vascular and Interventional Radiology; Neuroradiology; or Pediatric Radiology, at least 25% of the CME credits you earn must be in your subspecialty area.

Beginning in 2019, a minimum of 60 CME credits must be in the specialty area of certification during each three-year AOA CME cycle. Of these, 10 must be AOA Category 1-A CME. The remaining 50 hours will have broad acceptance of specialty CME.

Physicians holding one or more subspecialty certifications must earn a minimum of 15 specialty credits (25% of the requirements for primary specialty certification) in each subspecialty area of certification during each AOA CME cycle.

  • AOBR board-certified physicians must complete 15 Self-Assessment Modules (SAMs) during each CME cycle. All 15 SAMs must be successfully completed and submitted by the end of each three- year CME cycle. Each SAM must include a self-administered examination and the diplomate must provide a certificate of attendance indicating the amount of credit earned, as provided by the organization offering the SAM. More information on SAM requirements is available on our website.
  • Diplomates must submit all CME obtained to the AOA CME Department for recording.

Self-Assessment Module (SAM) publications

This is not an inclusive list but is meant to give you suggestions on where you can earn SAMs.

  • American Osteopathic College of Radiology (AOCR)
  • American College of Radiology (ACR)
  • Radiological Society of North America (RSNA)
  • Society of Pediatric Radiology (SPR)
  • Society of Breast Imaging (SBI)
  • Society of Skeletal Radiology (SSR)
  • American Society of Emergency Radiology (ASER)
  • Society of Interventional Radiology (SIR)
  • American Journal of Neuroradiology (AJNR)
  • Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM)
  • American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM)