The American Osteopathic Board of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine administers primary certification exams, as well as Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain primary board certification in Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine.

Written Exam

1. In order to take the Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine Initial Certification Exam, applicants must have satisfactorily completed Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine/Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine residency training.

2. The Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine Initial Certification Exam consists of Written, Oral and Practical portions and is offered over a weekend every fall. The application period opens the previous summer.

Become Board Certified

3. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the AOBNMM will recommend osteopathic board certification to the AOA.

4. You will receive a letter from the AOA via email once certification has been approved.

5. You are now board certified. You will receive your certification in the mail within 90 days upon notification of approval. You’ll also receive an email explaining how to access your Certified Electronic Certificate.

6. Your primary certification in Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine will remain active for 10 years following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment module.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment.

11. Maintain membership in the American Osteopathic Association.