Component 2: Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education


Component 2 of the Osteopathic Continuous Certification process requires recertifying physicians to pursue lifelong learning through continuing medical education. Component 2 consists of two parts: CME credit and Pediatric Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment (POMT) Modules.

June 2020 Update: AOA announces CME policy changes due to COVID-19

Recognizing the significant burden placed on physician practices by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Executive Committee of the AOA Board of Trustees has approved the following policy changes for the 2019-2021 CME cycle.

  • At the end of the 2019-21 CME cycle, up to 15 AOA category 1-B credits will be converted to AOA category 1-A credits on an hour for hour basis. Please note the credit adjustment will not appear on CME reports until the end of the current cycle. At that time, reports will be updated to display credit totals with and without the adjustment to preserve accuracy of reporting for non-AOA use, such as verification for state licensure.
  • The maximum number of AOA category 1-B credits that may be earned for committee and hospital work (as described in the 2019-2021 CME Guide for Osteopathic Physicians) has been raised from 5 to 10.

CME Requirements

To complete Component 2 requirements in the primary specialty of Pediatrics, diplomates must:

  • Earn 60 CME credits during each three-year AOA CME cycle. Of these, 15 credits must be specialty AOA Category 1-A. AOA specialty certifying boards will not require diplomates to obtain specialty-specific CME during the 2019-2021 CME cycle. You may view your status for all OCC components, including Component 2, by logging into the AOA Physician Portal.
  • Complete 9 Pediatric Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment (POMT) modules, listed below.

POMT Modules

Physicians must successfully complete nine pediatric osteopathic manipulative treatment (POMT) modules below. Each module has been approved for 1 AOA Category 1-B CME credit. For each module, you must read the module and complete the corresponding online quiz. Physicians must get at least 80% of the quiz correct to pass the module.

The AOBP will score and report this activity to the AOA CME Department for OCC credit. Please allow up to 90 days for processing.

All nine POMT modules must be completed by the end of the nine-year OCC cycle (Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2030).  You can view your status for all OCC components, including component 2, by logging in to the AOA Physician Portal.

POMT Modules

  1. Osteopathic Manipulation for Acute Otitis Media in the Pediatric Population
  2. An Osteopathic Approach to Pediatric Headaches
  3. Osteopathic Considerations in the Newborn
  4. The Osteopathic Evaluation and Treatment of Ankle Injuries
  5. Osteopathic Pediatric Knee Examination
  6. Pediatric Cervical Spine OMT Module
  7. Pediatric Respiratory OMT Module
  8. Osteopathic Pediatrics
  9. Pediatric Scoliosis OMT Module