Longitudinal assessment for Component 3: LEARN MORE | AOBS General Surgery Spring Oral Exam registration has closed


Become Board-Eligible

Board-eligible status begins upon completion of your training program and ends Dec. 31 of the sixth year after you complete training. View eligibility requirements for AOA board certification.

Select Your Specialty

The American Osteopathic Board of Surgery administers primary and subspecialty board certification in the following areas.

Primary Certification:

Cardiothoracic Surgery

General Surgery

Neurological Surgery

Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery

Vascular Surgery

Urological Surgery

Subspecialty Certification:

Surgical Critical Care  

Get Certified

Complete all application and examination requirements for certification. Your AOBS primary or subspecialty certification will remain active for 10 years following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Maintain Your Certification

Complete the four components of Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) to promote patient care, practice enhancement and lifelong learning throughout your career.