Coming soon: AOBS to collaborate with ABS to offer new designation opportunity | LEARN MORE


The American Osteopathic Board of Surgery administers primary and subspecialty certification exams, as well as Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain subspecialty board certification in Surgical Critical Care.

Written Exam

1. Applicants must complete one year of AOA or ACOS-approved training in Surgical Critical Care and complete the General Surgery Written Exam prior to taking the subspecialty exam.

2. Diplomates of the American Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine must pass a Surgical Critical Care Written Exam after one year of AOA or ACOS-approved training in Surgical Critical Care.

3. The Written Exam is offered annually in April via a remote proctoring platform. The application period opens five months prior to the exam.

Become Board Certified

4. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the AOBS will recommend osteopathic subspecialty board certification to the AOA.

5. You will receive notification from the AOA via email once certification has been approved. Expect to receive your certificate in the mail within six weeks of notification of approval.

6. Your subspecialty certification in Surgical Critical Care will remain active for 10 years following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment.