AOBS announces the Oct. 10, 2020 Oral Exams are postponed

Component 4: Practice Performance Assessment & Improvement


Under Component 4 of the OCC process for the specialty of Surgery, physicians are required to demonstrate participation in quality improvement (QI) activities. This can be done by completion of a Practice Performance Assessment Module (PPA) or by attesting to completion of QI activities as part of your practice.

Through the process, diplomates demonstrate that they can assess the quality of surgical care they provide compared to peers and national benchmarks and then apply the best evidence or consensus recommendations to improve that surgical care using follow-up assessments.

AOBS Diplomates must complete a minimum of one QI attestation or one PPA module once every three years in the 10-year certification cycle.

Attestation of Quality Improvement

Diplomates who wish to submit attestation of completing QI activities as part of their practice may do so via the AOA Physician Portal.

Please note: Individuals submitting attestations must include the name of a supervisor who can confirm that the QI project was completed. AOBS will audit 10% of the attestations received by contacting the person listed.

No CME credit is awarded for submitting QI Attestations.

PPA Modules

Diplomates may submit a Practice Performance Assessment Module (PPA) to meet the Component 4 requirement. PPA Modules are available on the Osteopathic Continuous Assessment & Training (O-CAT) website. These modules involve collecting data from patient records and submitting required information through the online form. Diplomates are required to collect data from a minimum of 10 consecutive patient records extracted for a designated condition, disease or procedure. Data must be from patients treated by the diplomate and not by other physicians in a group practice. The AOBS will provide samples of the PPA modules with instructions. All physician logged cases are subject to audit.

(Please note O-CAT will not be accepting new subscriptions or renewals. Physicians with active subscriptions will have until Dec. 15, 2020 to complete their modules.)

Limited Scope

Diplomates who verify that 90% or more of their primary practice does not currently fall within the scope of their primary specialty board certification may propose an alternate Component 4 project.

Dually-Certified Physicians: 2 or More AOA Specialty Certifying Boards

Due to the unique nature of each specialty, diplomates holding two or more surgical certifications administered through the AOA must meet all criteria for each specialty certifying board’s OCC processes. However, CME earned will apply to each specialty certifying board, with the exception of the special CME requirements for each specialty and/or subspecialty certification.

Dually Certified DOs: AOA and ABMS Certification

Diplomates participating in the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) process through one or more ABMS-recognized certifying boards may petition to submit their practice performance assessment activities completed through MOC and apply them to their OCC Component 4 requirements. However, the specialty certifying board may also require an osteopathic component.