Become Board-Eligible

Board-eligible status begins upon completion of your training program and ends Dec. 31 of the sixth year after you complete training. View eligibility requirements for AOA board certification.

Select Your Specialty

The AOBFP administers board certification in the following areas.

Primary Certification:
Family Medicine/OMT

CAQ Certification:
Geriatric Medicine

Conjoint CAQ Certification:
Addiction Medicine
Correctional Medicine
Hospice & Palliative Medicine
Pain Medicine
Sleep Medicine
Sports Medicine
Undersea & Hyperbaric Medicine

Get Certified

Complete all application and examination requirements for certification through the specialty certifying board. Your Family Medicine/OMT primary certification will remain active for eight years and subspecialty/CAQ certifications will remain active for 10 years following the date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Maintain Your Certification

Complete the five components of Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) to promote patient care, practice enhancement and lifelong learning throughout your career.