Component 2: Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education


Component 2 of the OCC process requires recertifying physicians to pursue lifelong learning through continuing medical education.

Primary Certification

To complete component 2 requirements in the primary specialty of Family Medicine, a physician must earn 120 CME credits per three-year AOA CME cycle. The total 120 credits can consist of a combination of AOA Category 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B or AAFP credits; however, the following stipulations apply:

  • 30 credits must be AOA Category 1A,
  • an additional 30 credits can be either AOA Category 1A or 1B, and
  • the remaining 60 required credits are flexible, e.g., 60 out of the total required 120 credits can be either AOA Category 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B or AAFP credits. Thus, these credits may include AAFP or ACCME accredited activities as defined by the AOA CME Guide.

Looking for CME to complete Component 2 requirements?

On-demand content will be available to all DO Day registrants via the conference platform through June 14, 2024.

CME Reporting

CME can be reported several ways. Using the AOA’s new online CME tracking services, you can now easily self-report AOA Category 1 and 2 CME activities hosted by non-AOA-accredited CME sponsors. CME earned through an AOA-accredited sponsor will be reported on your behalf.

The CME self-reporting and tracking system is free for AOA members, with unlimited access to report activities, download and print CME reports. Simply log into the AOA Physician Portal and click “Manage CME” to get started.

The CME self-reporting and tracking services are available to non-members who are AOA board-certified for a nominal subscription fee. Register for CME self-reporting and tracking only. To avoid the fee, you can join the AOA to begin taking advantage of all the benefits membership provides, including full access to the new CME self-reporting and tracking service, unlimited free physician profile reports and a full slate of valuable member resources and savings programs.

Please note: Diplomates have until March 31 to submit CME for the 2019-2021 CME Cycle. All reported credits must have been earned in the 2019-2021 CME Cycle.

Recognizing the significant burden placed on physician practices by the COVID-19 pandemic, the Executive Committee of the AOA Board of Trustees approved the following policy changes for the 2019-2021 CME cycle.

  • At the end of the 2019-21 CME cycle, up to 15 AOA category 1-B credits will be converted to AOA category 1-A credits on an hour for hour basis. Please note the credit adjustment will not appear on CME reports until the end of the current cycle. At that time, reports will be updated to display credit totals with and without the adjustment to preserve accuracy of reporting for non-AOA use, such as verification for state licensure.
  • The maximum number of AOA category 1-B credits that may be earned for committee and hospital work (as described in the 2019-2021 CME Guide for Osteopathic Physicians) has been raised from 5 to 10.

Subspecialty/CAQ Certification

Subspecialty/CAQ certifications must abide by the requirement of their primary certification board. There is no additional CME required to maintain a conjoint certification.