The American Osteopathic Board of Family Physicians administers primary certification exams, subspecialty certification exams and Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain initial primary board certification in Family Medicine/OMT.

Learn more about the Initial Certification Grant Opportunity for residents.

Written (Cognitive) Exam

1. If you have completed or are within six months of completing a three-year residency program in Family Medicine, you are eligible to sit for the Written (Cognitive) Exam. The exam is offered once in the spring and once in the fall.

OMT Performance Exam

2. The OMT Performance Exam will be held in spring at the annual ACOFP conference and a second OMT exam may be offered in the fall if there is a large demand for an additional administration.

NOTE: Candidates may opt out of the OMT Performance Exam and become board-certified in Family Medicine only. If you select this option, you may complete the OMT Performance Exam at any point in your career to become certified in Family Medicine and OMT.

Become Board Certified

3. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the AOBFP will recommend osteopathic board certification to the AOA.

4. You will receive a letter from the AOA via email once certification has been approved.

5. You are now board certified. You will receive your certificate in the mail within 10-12 weeks upon notification of approval, as well as a certified electronic certificate.

6. Your primary certification in Family Medicine/OMT will remain following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment.