The American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine administers primary and subspecialty certification exams, as well as Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain subspecialty board certification in Advanced Heart Failure & Transplant Cardiology.

Written Exam

1. In order to take the Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Written Exam, applicants must be AOA board-certified internal medicine specialists who have completed three years of an AOA-recognized fellowship program in Cardiology, followed by one year of training in Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology.

2. The Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Written Exam is offered in August. The application period for the Written Exam opens in mid-February.

Become Board Certified

4. Upon successful completion of the written exam, the AOBIM will recommend candidates to the AOA for osteopathic board certification.

5. You will receive a letter from the AOA once certification has been approved. Expect to receive your certificate in the mail within 10 weeks of notification of approval.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

6. Maintain active licensure.

7. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

8. Complete the cognitive assessment.

9. Complete the practice performance assessment.