Through the following components, board-certified physicians maintain Osteopathic Continuous Certification in the primary specialty of Internal Medicine.

To check your progress with OCC, please visit the AOA Physician Portal.

Component 1 | Active Licensure

AOA board-certified physicians must hold a valid, active license to practice medicine in one of the 50 states. Read more…

Component 2 | Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education

To complete Component 2 requirements for OCC in the specialty of Internal Medicine, a physician must fulfill 60 hours of CME over the 36-months of the AOA’s CME cycle. Read more…

Component 3 | Cognitive Assessment

Requires provision of one or more psychometrically valid and proctored examinations that assess a physician’s specialty medical knowledge, as well as core competencies in the provision of health care. Read more…

Component 3 | AOBIM OCC Longitudinal Assessment Modules

Component 4 | Practice Performance Assessment & Improvement