Component 4: Practice Performance Assessment & Improvement


Component 4 requires physicians to engage in continuous quality improvement through comparison of personal practice performance measured against national standards for their medical specialty.

Diplomates can fulfill this component by attesting to participation in a Quality Improvement Activity in their practice. To learn more about accepted quality improvement activities and to submit a quality improvement attestation, please visit the AOA Physician Portal.

The AOBIM requires that physicians complete 1 Quality Improvement (QI) activity attestation every three-year CME Cycle. We are currently in the 2022-2024 CME Cycle.

Non-Clinical OCC Pathways for OCC Component 4

For non-clinical practice physicians, Component 4 can be satisfied by completing the following:

A Physician’s Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care
Fee: None
Registration: https://cccm.thinkculturalhealth.hhs.gov/

Note: Complete one theme for a total of 3 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Submit your certificate for completion to memberservice@osteopathic.org. You will then submit your attestation that you completed this activity on your AOA Physician Portal for Component 4 credit.