The American Osteopathic Board of Preventive Medicine administers primary certification exams, CAQ certification exams, and Osteopathic Continuous Certification requirements. The following stages represent key milestones in the process to obtain your CAQ in Occupational Medicine.

Certification Exam

1. In order to take the Occupational Medicine CAQ Certification Exam, applicants must have active certification from any AOA certifying board.

2. The Occupational Medicine CAQ Certification Exam is offered every spring. The application period is posted and opens five months prior to the exam date. The final due date for applications is 30 days prior to the exam date.

Become Board Certified

3. Upon successful completion of all exam components, the AOBPM will recommend your Certificate of Added Qualifications (CAQ) to the AOA Board of Trustees.

4. You will receive a letter from the AOA Board of Trustees via email once certification has been approved.

5. You have now earned your CAQ in Occupational Medicine. You will receive your certificate in the mail within 90 days.

6. Your CAQ in Occupational Medicine will remain active for ten years following date of issue provided you successfully complete Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) requirements. NOTE: You must maintain your primary board certification in order for your CAQ to remain valid.

Osteopathic Continuous Certification

7. Maintain active licensure.

8. Participate in lifelong learning and continuing medical education.

9. Complete the cognitive assessment.

10. Complete the practice performance assessment.