Written Exam


The following training requirements must be completed before a candidate may sit for the Written Exam for subspecialty certification in Infectious Disease:

  • Complete two years of training in an AOA-recognized fellowship program in Infectious Disease. You must have completed the required training by Aug. 15 of the year when you plan to sit the exam.
  • Adhere to the AOA Code of Ethics.


Once training requirements for eligibility are met, candidates must submit the following:

  • A completed application.
  • Required fees.
  • Proof of an active medical license.
  • Initial applicants and applicants who have not completed their training must submit a Program Director report verifying clinical competence and the completion date of an AOA-recognized fellowship training program.
  • If you completed your training in an ACGME fellowship program, submit a letter from the AOA stating that the ACGME fellowship training has been AOA-recognized.
  • If you’ve received a letter from the AOA stating that your subspecialty training program is complete, enclose a copy with your application.

Exam Fees

An exam fee of $800 must be submitted with your completed application. No application will be considered complete until all fees have been paid. Exam applications submitted after June 1 will incur a non-refundable $200 late fee. No applications will be accepted after July 1. All cancellations must be made in writing. No exam fees are refunded unless the candidate withdraws from the examination process, which will result in a loss of board eligibility. Otherwise, candidates’ fees are credited toward the next year’s examination, less the applicable cancellation fee, and will remain board eligible until June 1 of the following year. Cancellation fees are as follows:

  • Before June 1: $100 cancellation fee
  • Between June 1 and July 1: $400 cancellation fee
  • After July 1: $800 cancellation fee

Exam Dates and Deadlines

The Infectious Disease Written Exam is offered in August. The application period opens the previous year, starting in December.

Exam Content Outline

The Infectious Disease Written Exam tests the knowledge and understanding of basic science and clinical knowledge, skills and principles critical to the practice of Infectious Disease. The seven-hour exam consists of 300 multiple choice questions:

Subspecialty Certification
  1. 1. Basic principles of Infectious Disease
  2. 2. Antimicrobial agents/antifungal/antiviral agents
  3. 3. Vaccines
  4. 4. Epidemiology
  5. 5. Infection control/Nosocomial
  6. 6. Sepsis
  7. 7. Respiratory infections
  8. 8. FUO/ Fever
  9. 9. Gastrointestinal
  10. 10. Hepatitis and other infections of liver
  11. 11. Genitourinary infections
  12. 12. Cardiovascular infections
  13. 13. Central nervous system infections
  14. 14. Soft tissue infection
  15. 15. Bone and joint infection
  16. 16. Trauma/ Burn-related infections
  17. 17. HIV
  18. 18. Sexually transmitted diseases
  19. 19. Tuberculosis
  20. 20. Pathogens (specific microorganisms)
  21. 21. Helminthic/protozoan/spirochet/rickettsial organisms
  22. 22. Fungal infections
  23. 23. Laboratory testing
  • 2-6%
  • 10-14%
  • 1-4%
  • 1-5%
  • 1-5%
  • 2-6%
  • 2-6%
  • 1-5%
  • 2-6%
  • 2-6%
  • 1-4%
  • 2-6%
  • 3-7%
  • 1-5%
  • 1-4%
  • 1-3%
  • 6-10%
  • 2-6%
  • 2-6%
  • 4-8%
  • 8-12%
  • 4-8%
  • 1-4%

Exam Scoring

The AOBIM sets passing standards for the Written Exam using a measurement model known as “criterion-referenced standard setting.” Using this model, the board specifies the particular content and level of content difficulty necessary to be considered a passing candidate. All examination results will be reviewed by the board. Results will be released electronically through the AOBIM’s application portal. Candidates must be program complete and maintain AOA membership in order to access electronic results.